THIRTY-eight teams from around the county took part in the Devon Golf Ladies’ Bowmaker hosted by Tavistock Golf Club.

There was close scoring but the Tavistock team of Nicky Gawman, Belinda McSherry and Kerry Baker won the day with 75 points. They were closely followed by Paula Gibbs, Pauline Marais and Liz McKay from Royal North Devon with 74pts; in third place with 73pts were the Torquay team of Fiona Parsons, Charlotte Dommett and Keeley Clarke.

In the qualifying round of the Daily Mail Foursomes Nicola Ormond and Margaret Smith with 34 points, on countback from Jenny Kay and Marian Stenhouse, will represent Tavistock in the next round.

Twelve ladies braved the elements to play for the Withington Bowl. The winner, with a nett 76, was Hilary Picton with the runner up Jane Hosking with nett 78 on countback from Belinda McSherry.

In the Foster Ferris Trophy the winners with 44pts were Mark Cottngham and Paul Lillicrap; second, Graham Dennis and Alan Gawman 41pts, third Andy Down and Patrick McMahon on 40pts; fourth, on 39pts, George and Nicky Gawman.

In the Tavistock Golf Club’s men’s guest day Mark Cottingham and guest John Gruitt came first with 46pts; second Phil Gawman and Andrew Clegg 45pts; in third place Graham Caines and Bob Seager, with 42pts, on countback from Peter Floyd and Gary Marquand, Ian Jasinsky and Derek Baxter and Len Scott and R Jenkins.