THE annual Tavistock Ladies’ Club Championship/Penny Fox Trophy is always a competitive  event and this year’s match was no exception. 

In difficult conditions finalists Donna Cann and Fiona Lovell played  a hard fought game which went to the17th.  Donna finally won the hole to become the 2019 lady club champion and winner of the Penny Fox Trophy.  An excellent match and  great golf by both players.

Every year clubs Teign Valley, Okehampton, Yelverton, Wrangaton and Tavistock compete for the Dartmoor Pony. Organised by its founder Sue Pearman, the competiton has been running for more than 20 years.  The scoring was close but Tavistock took the honours  with 217 points; runners up were Okehampton  215 pts and in third place Yelverton with 213 pts. ‘All the Tavistock pairs played so well’ said a delighted lady captain Fran Horton. ‘It was a close call but we made it!’

In the ladies’ Foursomes Cup the 2019 winners were Dawn Dennis and Sally Timpson with a score of 74.5.  Runners up with 77.5 Peggy Burge and Carolyn Crawford.

In the men’s medal and Hampshire Cup qualifier scoring was tight but the winner with nett 68 was Mark Taylor, second Nick Turner nett 69, third Mark Cottingham nett 70 on count back from Rob Lovell and Cameron Kenworthy.  In the Kiely Cup first with 73pts Steve Fowler and Viv Wilton, second George Gawman and Jon Behennah 72pts, third Barry Milligan and Danny Brockington 69pts.