TAVISTOCK Golf Club’s 2020 season opened with the annual New Year’s Day Stableford. 

Twenty two teams took part and scoring was close but the honours went to Dave Burge, Graham Caines, John Hirst and Brian Goble with 87 points.  Close behind with 86pts were  Neil Cleave, James McGahey, Stuart Orchard and Sean Cleve.  Taking third place with 85 pts Jim Grant, Rob Williams, Lewis Reid and Jason Webber on countback from Ron Ball, Martin Channon, Paul Mace and Jas Singh. 

The men’s veterans held their first competition of the season – the Ken Cole Trophy.  Scoring was not high due to the heavy overnight rain making the course wet and, on the day, a mixture of rain, cold wind and sun all made for difficult conditions. First in division one and winner of the trophy was Ken Doig with 34pts; second in the division John Harding 33pts on count back from Graham Caines with 31pts. Dave Burge was first in division two; second Rick Read 30pts on count back from Brian Goble.  Division three was won by Jim McGregor on 32pts; second Les Tocher 31pts and third with 30pts Ian David.

Tavistock Golf Club juniors had an excellent win to end their busy 2019 season when, at Thurleston, Samuel Lawrence, Elise Williams and Jamie Ninnis won the West Devon Junior League Challenge Cup.