Yelverton Golf Club ladies held their Silver and Bronze Spring Open on a beautiful sunny April day.

The scores reflected the excellent conditions. First in the silver division and winning the Hall Trophy was Pauline Thorogood from Burnham and Berrow with 38 points. Second was Jane Vought from Stover with 36pts.

First in the bronze division and winning The Kelly Cup was Sandy Hawkins from Yelverton with 41pts; second was Christine Longden from Yelverton with 35pts.

The Scratch Prize was won by Gilly Jarvis (Tavistock); the best visitor's prize was won by Belinda McSherry (Tavistock); nearest the pin on the 12th was Lesley Pascoe (Stover); nearest the pin on the sixth was Jackie Veale (Stover).

Yelverton ladies had their first President's match of the season, home to Holsworthy and won by five matches to two.

In the ladies' Stableford and Murray Rosebowl Trophy the division one winner was Caroline Theyer  on 41pts, the runner-up was Anne Ashley on 36pts. The winner of division two and the Murray Rosebowl Trophy was Christine Longden on 38pts and runner-up Gina Mason on 37pts.

The Murray Rose Bowl was presented in 1988 by Jean Murray, who was a past ladies' captain of Yelverton in 1987. It is incorporated with a Stableford competition for the best score in division two.

A record 37 ladies entered the competition.