YOUNG farmers from the Okehampton area have been celebrating their success at their annual dinner.

The event, celebrating the 69th anniversary of Okehampton and District Young Farmers' Club, was held at the Ashbury Golf Hotel on January 18. The dinner was attended by members of the club, who were congratulated on their successes by club president Ruth Maile, guest speaker Robert Cole and his wife Annette, and club chairman Graham Francis. At the dinner, the club's individual cups were presented.

The winner of the perpetual challenge cup was John Maile for gaining the highest number of points at the group rally. John also won the challenge cup for boy gaining the most points at Okehampton Show, the 'pullers' puller' trophy for his involvement in the YFC tug of war team, and the Okehampton YFC boy over 18 who has gained the most points in the last year. The perpetual show cup for the girl with the most points at the group rally was Kathryn Allen.

Graham Francis picked up two trophies, for the most improved member of the tug of war team, and the member of the year award for the club member who has worked hard for the club. Graham won for his involvement with the carnival, club events, dung run and on the bar at club parties.

Justin Dunn won the award for the member over 18 who has contributed most to the club over the last year. Lucy Toop won the club sheep cup. Alice Herrington was the girl aged over 18 who won the most points throughout the year.

The Roy Wadman memorial cup for the member under 18 who has contributed the most during the last year went to Emily Sizmur. She helped to book and organise the club's four discos, and took photos to make a club scrapbook.

The club is always happy to welcome new members.

For details on Okehampton YFC, contact Graham Francis on 07799 482120.